I am Child of Palestine

The waves of war fill our houses and buildings,
Ripping apart families, efficiently killing,

Where we are experimented on with new arms technology
My land, my home becoming the world’s largest human laboratory

Resisting this ethnic cleansing is demonised as terrorism
Powers tacitly approve my school being subject to supremacism…

Where my art lessons are conducted with bullets and bombs,
To the nonchalance of blase Arab Uncle Toms.

Welcome to my world, a world where we are forged,
Before we are teenagers to be adults, eventually innards disgorged,

Lifeless in our parks where we should be in play,
Our innocence snatched from us to the world’s display.

Children of Powers enjoy the love of your parents and their boon
For me, inna lillahi, wa inna ilayhi raj’oon*

* “Indeed we belong to Allah , and indeed to Him we will return.” (Al-Qur’an, 2:156)

3 thoughts on “I am Child of Palestine

  1. Mashallah heartbreaking but every words so true. I have no words , feel more pain than I can bear.

    I wrote this poem from the perspective of a muslim watching on the tv the horror that is happening in Palestine.

    I haven’t spelled checked it , its raw like my emotions

    No title because i have no words

    Humanize palestine here are the faces of families , connections and dreams buried under rubble.
    The grey of concrete sterilizes the horror, bar a splatter of blood to show the world we all bleed the same

    We are going after the terrorists, they say , we are besieged they say; we are justified they say
    and if we believed the manufactured word of justifications , provocations and subjugation
    Then our indignation is nothing short of humiliation for all it does is highlight our inaction.

    Boycott and protest and beseech the world to show some humanity
    Yet Governments sway silent
    Torn between proving their democratic civility , the upholding of liberal ideals
    Look how civil we are, condemning the condemned for firing rockets…

    Oh we are sorry we didn’t realize we have just killed women and children, aren’t they all combatants we dropped leaflets before we dropped bombs

    Feel our pain bear witness to our suffering , the ether-net has become our voice for us the voiceless
    We beseech our muslim brothers and sisters , many who wonder what they can do.

    Wringing their hands awaiting permission from their non muslim colleagues to to legitimize any criticisms, for fear of falling into the schism that defines you a terrorist

    The flat screen vortex on my wall that shows me visions of child and and mother torn apart
    My breath catching in my chest as i superimpose the image of my child on what i see
    Before my breath catches again in relief that i am holding my child
    And then my soul shattering that for a split second a grief so overwhelming i shared but for a moment.

    Allah showing me reminding that i am merely a guardian of all that is in this world for all things must return to Allah

    I close my eyes trying to shakes the chains of fear , try to find my voice, try to fight the internal jihad

    And should i succeed , one day i will say i am standing , i coming, i am friend and I am muslim

    Another concerned muslim

  2. I wrote this after feeling so torn and overwhelmed , i couldn’t function due to the sheer brutality of it all, and in my deepest despair i found comfort in words. You may certainly blog this poem if you think it worthy.

    Another concerned muslim.

Leave a Reply

